top of page

Katrina Van Tassel

"She was a blooming lass, plump as a partridge, ripe, melting, and rosy cheeked" is the description of the fictional protagonist Katrina Van Tassel in the novel "The Legends of Sleepy Hollow" written by Washington Irving in 1820. Over the past few years, I have been intrinsically drawn to this Disney character. As I establish connections to variations of characters such as Morticia Addams I have been able to do so with Katrina. Her character is set in the 1600s in Sleepy Hollow New York. I myself have gone there several times with my parents on different occasions. Yet, my most beloved place to go (in the world) remains to be the Old Dutch Church graveyard. I inherently believe Katrina herself was buried somewhere here (perhaps by a different name).


To the right here is a small clip of her entrance scene in the Disney movie. She appears inherently beautiful with quite ladylike elegant features. She withholds; blonde hair, clear pale skin, darkened eyebrows, blue eyes, ample bosom, hourglass figurine, red plump lips, and a rounded feminine head shape. In this clip she blows a kiss to the town boys as they all rush to swoon by her side.



Although, Katrina surely appears to beautiful and winsome on the outside her angelic appearance is somehow deceiving. She titillates the townsfolk into adoring her hence, achieving this Queen like persona. Everybody caters to her every whim quite similar to Morticia Addams. Lets analyze this particular scene above in this GIF for instance. In this entrance scene where Katrina arrives with her father Baltus Van Tassel at a picnic. As soon as she arrives she spots the townsmen and initiates what seems to be an innately instinctive reaction. She exudes a vigorous congenital womanly appeal that seems to immanently thrive within her soul. Katrina is only 18 years old yet she succeeds in attracting an entire towns population of men.

But is Katrina exploiting her beauty for her own advantage and sheer pleasure? From what I perceive it sadly seems so. She is kind and sweet but to a certain extent. Her inner motives show through when she blatantly gazes at Ichabod who is certainly no Prince Charming. I believe her motives are pure but she has irreversibly transformed herself into a hopeless flirt. In other terms, she achieved Marilyn Monroe status in Sleepy Hollow and is having a hard time alleviating herself of this role. Being a 19 year old girl myself, I don't think Katrina is evil or cruel. However, she does come off a bit deceptive to men. In the GIF above she has successfully brainwashed Ichabod Crane into believing he could marry Katrina and win a fortune.


As a 19 year old girl, I can relate to Katrina's deep desire to be adored and loved in her town. She simply wants to be wonderful and admired by all. She is a smart girl and intentionally escalates every moment to get what's she's after. From my experience, doing playing this "Marilyn" role can be quite fun and amusing for a time. But, when you begin to attract unwanted admirers your life can become a living nightmare. In this case, Katrina does not appear candidly attracted to all the men she gazes at. The only person I she actually does desire is Brom Bones whom she is performing for. Other than him, she simply flirts with others to feed her own dignity and arrogance. I suppose you could say she is also the female version Gaston in town! : ) Because she places ample time and effort into her appearance she is categorized as vain and conceited. However, I stand by Katrina as her friend because only God knows if I would do the same one day.


Moving forward, I am going to discuss the Marilyn/Katrina like characters I have found. It has been a long and extensive search but I have finally achieved a collection girls who act in the same flirtatious manner. These are; Morticia Addams, Slue Foot Sue, Marcia Brady, Cher Horowitz, and Regina George.


Blow are two images of what I believe she would look like in real life!



Many blessings and enjoy pleasing the Lord today in whatever you do! There is always more of yourself to give to Him!


Love ,


Julia


"We equate beauty to happiness. God equates beauty to holiness"

Remember JOY - loving yourself comes last!


29 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page